Monthly Archives - November 2012

DWI Offenses

When charged with a DWI in Houston, TX, it can be an extremely terrifying and daunting experience. One fateful night can change your entire life. Whether you are a first-time offender or whether this has happened before, contacting a Houston DWI attorney is of the utmost importance. You want to make sure your case is being handled correctly from the start and will need a professional to do the job for you.

When first meeting with your Houston DWI lawyer, he will explain to you Texas DWI laws. Different offenses come with different penalties and sentences. A first time offender can be subjected to a $2,000 fine, as well as the possibility of jail time that ranges from three days to 180 days. Your license can be revoked as a first-time offender for anywhere from 90 days to 365 days. If you are a first time offender and it is found that your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was .15 or higher, then you can be tried as a second time offender. Sentences for a second time offender includes a maximum fine of $5,000. There is also the possibility of a jail sentence from 30 days up to one year, as well as your license being revoked for anywhere from 180 days to two years. First and second time offenders have their convictions classified as a misdemeanor, but that does not mean a DWI lawyer in Houston is not of absolute necessity.

A third time offense is considered a third degree felony. It is punishable with a fine of up to $10,000, as well as a possible prison sentence of 2-10 years. Your driver’s license can also be suspended anywhere from 180 days to two years. If there was an accident and serious bodily injury was incurred by another during a DWI offense, this is considered intoxication assault and you can spend 2-10 years in prison, and also possibly be made to pay a $10,000 fine. If a death occurred as the result of a DWI, this is considered intoxication manslaughter and if convicted, you can face up to 20 years in prison.

Being charged with a DWI in the state of Texas is no laughing matter and your best bet if charged with this crime, whether a first time offense or whether someone was injured, is to make a sure a DWI lawyer in Houston is looking out for your best interest.